Skip to content ↓

Core Curriculum

Core Subjects

We aim to provide a broad and balanced curriculum and particular care is taken to ensure that all children are treated as individuals and that we carefully match the work to the child's capabilities.

Our school curriculum is designed to implement all National Curriculum requirements, so in every class, children are taught:-

English, Maths and Science are known as Core Subjects.

Design Technology, History, Computing, Geography, Music, Art, PE and Personal, Social, Health and Citizenship Education (PSHCE) are our Foundation Subjects. 

What is the National Curriculum?

State schools in England must teach a range of subjects according to targets set by the National Curriculum. This was established in 1989 to ensure the same standards of teaching and learning across the nation.

The National Curriculum covers learning for all children aged 5-16 in state schools, and sets out:

  • which subjects should be taught
  • the knowledge, skills and understanding your child should achieve in each subject (according to your child’s age)
  • targets - so teachers can measure how well your child is doing in each subject

What are the Key Stages?

The National Curriculum is divided into four Key Stages that children are taken through during their school life. For example, Key Stage 1 is taught during Years 1 and 2 of primary school. Targets defined in the National Curriculum are assessed at the end of each Key Stage.  The four Key Stages are:-

Key Stage 1         Ages 5-7               Years 1 and 2

Key Stage 2         Ages 7-11            Years 3, 4, 5 and 6

Key Stage 3         Ages 11-14          Years 7, 8 and 9

Key Stage 4         Ages 14-16          Years 10 and 11